Day 47.

Last Friday Dave’s uncle was visiting, so we cooked him a yummy dinner of BBQ pork, mashed potatoes, fresh bread and … this salad…

Spinach and romaine lettuce, fresh oranges, dried cranberries and slivered almonds.

Yum.

However, the best part was the dressing – homemade poppy seed. Oh yum. I asked Dave’s mom for her recipe that I had once at their house. Mixing it up was so easy and so much healthier than the high fructose corn syrup and preservative laden dressings at the grocery store.

Here’s my version…

1/2 c. sugar ( I think I will reduce this next time as it was very sweet)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp dry mustard
1/3 c apple cider vinegar (I use Bragg’s raw organic ACV – yummy)
1 tsp onion powder
1 c canola oil

1 1/2 Tbsp poppy seed

Blend all ingredients in blender. I used a hand/stick blender and it worked beautifully. You cannot just whisk it together, you have to blend it. Then stir in poppy seeds. Poppy seed dressing goes really well with spinach/fruit salads like the one above. Delicious!

The recipe says to not use olive oil. I think this is probably because the flavor of EVOO is too strong. I was thinking of trying it with a milder version of olive oil – if anyone does this/has done this let me know how it turns out!!

-Liz

**This post is linked to Tasty Tuesday @ Balancing Beauty and Bedlam

Leave a Reply

