Day 79.

As soon as I heard this book existed, I just knew I had to read it.

Any book that tells me I can have fresh baked bread in just 5 minutes a day – well that’s worth looking into. This particular book is the second that the authors have written – the first being Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.

The basic tenant of the book is this – you mix up a large batch of dough (enough for 4 loaves), let rise, and then store in the refrigerator for up to two weeks, using when desired. There is no kneading involved! ๐Ÿ™‚ This works out great for me, since I often like to make a loaf of fresh bread to go with dinner, but don’t have the time to mix it and let it rise twice by the time I get home from work. I tried freezing my dough, but I’m not a huge fan of that method (partially because I always forgot to take it out of the freezer to thaw!).

Anyways, with the book looking like a surefire hit, I was delightfully surprised when I heard it had come in for me at the library. After spending much of the Spring Break driving time paging through the recipes, reading the instructions, and drooling over the deliciousness of it all – I finally was able to make up a recipe for dinner tonight.

Not quite as pretty as theirs, but not bad for a first try! ๐Ÿ™‚ This was what they call the “Master Recipe” -the dough that is used as a base for many of the other recipes in the book. Boy oh boy – did it turn out yummy! I had never tried putting poppy seeds on bread before, and that was very good. The bread is mostly whole wheat flour (a little unbleached white flour) and it turned out fantastic! And I still have a nice big bowl of the dough in my fridge to use when I want throughout the next two weeks. What could be better? ๐Ÿ™‚

I willย definitely be giving updates as to how the other recipes turn out. I think this book needs to find its way into my permanent collection. (hint hint – its my birthday soon!!). ๐Ÿ™‚

-Liz

PS If you haven’t read my post on Chloe’s Closet – please do!

4 Responses

  1. Send bread will pay cash!!! Love you

    • haha! i’m pretty sure mom makes pita bread too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • whoops – thought this was on the other post! same idea applies though – you have plenty of good bakers surrounding you!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Yummy! I think I’ll check this book out, too.

Leave a Reply

