Day 85.

So tonight I think I reached a new level of culinary amazingness. Well, at least my husband thinks so…

I stumbled upon this food blog http://www.injennieskitchen.com/. When I came upon this recipe… I just knew I had to try it.

http://www.injennieskitchen.com/2010/01/homemade-manicotti.html

I have this obsession with making as many things as possible from scratch. Especially things that you normally wouldn’t think of making from scratch. A few things I have made are: tortillas, yogurt, pita bread, salad dressing, and others. So, with how the writer talked about this recipe, I thought it would be super fun to try it. Especially because of this…

http://mamachronicles.typepad.com/in_jennies_kitchen/2009/09/creamy-homemade-ricotta.html

Homemade ricotta cheese?! How awesome is that?

Well, the recipe sat in my “recipes to try” folder for a couple weeks before I finally found the right time to try it – today.

Oh boy – it was good.

Here is the ricotta. Making it was almost too easy. Mix together milk, heavy cream, buttermilk, and salt. Bring to a gentle boil. As soon as the curds separate from the whey, pour it into a cheese cloth lined strainer. Booyah.

Here is the homemade pasta sauce – surprisingly my first time making that too. It was really easy as well – the only thing I would change is that I didn’t really like the tomato skins in the crushed tomatoes.

Since this recipe was so interesting, I decided to go all out, using even the fresh herbs it called for (instead of dried). I was about to get a pack of basil (for the sauce), when I turned around and saw this little guy for just a dollar more. I’ve been meaning to start an herb garden anyway – so I quickly scooped it up! And, boy, it smells GOOD!

Sadly, I forgot to take a picture of  making the noodle. The manicotti noodle is actually a “noodle crepe” – not the pasta tube you normally see. Since I had made crepes before, I thought I would be able to do this as well. It was a little more difficult than regular crepes – but I think by the end I had the hang of it. I whipped together the ricotta cheese mixture, spread it on the manicotti, rolled it up, and put it in the pan with the sauce.

After a short bake time… we enjoyed the fruit of my labor. (I had also taken out the last of my 5 Minute Bread dough, so we had fresh bread too!).

Out of all my meals, I think this one got the best response from Dave. The ricotta cheese really put it over the edge. It was so creamy and so delicious. Dave was on the phone half of dinner telling the world how amazing the food was. 🙂

Anyway, long story short, the work was well worth it and I’ll definitely be making this again!

-Liz

2 Responses

  1. Liz, I’m so glad you both loved the recipe. And, that basil will be a yummy reward once you plant it.

    Cheers,
    Jennie

  2. […] about that. That is, until we went to Dave’s grandma’s and and made her our delicious home made manicotti for dinner. We had been running late and got right into cooking when we got there – it […]

Leave a Reply

