Day 103.

So lately I’ve been learning how to make fun and yummy things that require the use of a cheese cloth. Things like greek yogurt, cream cheese (haven’t tried it yet!), and ricotta cheese. Well, the one time I used the cheese cloth it was quite the messy business, so I decided I needed to find an alternative of some sort… of course I promptly forgot about that. That is, until we went to Dave’s grandma’s and and made her our delicious home made manicotti for dinner. We had been running late and got right into cooking when we got there – it didn’t take me long to realize that I had forgotten cheese cloth for the ricotta. Dave’s grandma did some quick thinking and brought me out the most amazing scrap of fabric she had – just what I was needing!

Its a somewhat satin-y silky fine fabric…and its amazing.

There’s my ricotta – yum!!

There it is with all the ricotta scraped out! If you’ve ever worked with cheese cloth you should realize that this is not the outcome with that. It sticks all in it and it gets all misshapen. With this material it just comes right off! And instead of having to throw away the nasty mess you can just rinse and reuse! Yes I am a kitchen nerd and I am ecstatic. 🙂

-Liz

PS this post is linked to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays @ Tammy’s Recipes (my favorite food blog!!).

2 Responses

  1. Wow, your cheese looks delicious! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the tip on cheesecloths. 🙂

  2. Wowsers!! I’m jealous….I want a fabulous piece of silky material to use instead of cheesecloth!!! =(

Leave a Reply

